Feeling that Tamba Love

After spending three weeks in Dakar for expansion research, I was actually excited to get back to Tamba. I was missing our staff, being in the field, eating at the three local places we frequent. I was excited to get back to being a local.

On the drive in from Dakar, I realized how much of a rural liver I’ve become. I was getting exciting with the increased absence of civilization with every bumpy kilometer. I felt like I could breathe a little better.

Typical Tamba Sight

Typical Tamba Sight

One night summed up exactly what I had been missing. With Aesclinn and Casey on vacation, I was in Tamba with a new colleague. While she hung out at home, I walked to Franks to meet up with some friends from Dakar who were passing through Tamba. Although Tamba has become at times too familiar, I walked outside to notice two other toubabs hanging out with our nextdoor neighbors. I did not recognize them but said hello and continued on. Tamba love 1: Even though it is small and can seem the same for months at a time, there are still surprises.

 On the walk, a young woman I frequently say hello to walked alongside me for a few blocks, talking about the weather, wanting to practice her French. It was a lovely evening outside and there were lots of people on the road. I passed a woman I bought Tapalapa from a few days earlier and she was yelling TOUBAB across the road and showing me her bread. I passed on it for the night. Tamba love 2: Becoming a local/regular after one purchase.

I went to sandwich lady. She’s expanded her business again. In January, she was working the stand on her own, only open on days she could work. There was no place to sit, no place to wait. Slowly, she bought chairs to sit in while she cooked up the delicious sammies. Then she had a mini concrete wall built, making it seem more like a kiosk. Then she started training a few people. She even trained one woman on our rather complicated order. Then there was a night where one of her apprentices was there and she wasn’t. Then, last week, she had a sous chef with her, helping cook the meat and wrap the sandwiches. It has been a real joy seeing how much she’s expanded her business in the short 6 months since I’ve been here. Tamba love 3: getting to know local vendors and recognizing their achievements along the way.

 Once I got to Franks, there was a group of about 8 Peace Corps volunteers passing through on their way back from Kedougou, where they had a tree planting/4th of July weekend. I recognized and had met with about four of them. My friends came and we all ate together, drinking beer and nerding out. Then I found out that one of them went to Hollins, where my aunt and uncle both teach. Tamba love 4: the world is truly, insanely small. From rural Senegal acquaintances to international connections

As I walked home that night, I felt good. I felt comfortable walking the 30 minutes back to the house by myself, I kept laughing at how happy Tamba made me. I guess after 6 months living in a small city, I really will miss this place. Tamba love 5: feeling comfortable in a foreign, rural city.

Roof view!

Roof view!

Leave a comment